My first post….A Nut Milk?!

Hola! I’m thrilled to be sharing with you at Pedaling for Peace a little bit about food and nutrition!

I will admit, my fingers had been feeling a quiver of shyness. I wanted the first post to be extra special- not digging for clever remarks or sweet nothings to impress you with the latest research and bombard you with references on how to do it “right”.  We are all smart here. We can Google just about anything these days. The challenge was bringing the essence of me to you not hidden by someone else’s research. What is totally and purely me? Coming from a mindset of “I know nothing” I like to share the innocence of looking at each day as if it was the first on earth. I’m that two year old full of wonder playing in the sandbox throwing sand at the other kids because I think it’s funny. I walk with rocks in my pockets and crumbs on my face. But you’ll get to know more about me as we go along!

NutmilkSo I will do what I do when I meet make new friends, a Nut Milk! I travel with my nut milk bags and love showing everyone how to make their own milk because I feel it’s so easy and taste way better than store bought. It’s also a great beginning of setting a basic foundation for making dietary and lifestyle changes. And if by any chance I share a thing or two that inspires you to live a healthier happier life, then I am glad I was there for you just in time.

 

Ingredients
4 cups filtered water (use less for a creamier milk)
1 cup brazil nuts, soaking not required
¼ cup dates, soaked and pitted
1 tsp vanilla
Pinch sea salt

Directions
Blend all ingredients for about 2 minutes to allow the fat in the nuts to emulsify. Filter through a nut milk bag, nylon bag or mesh vegetable/produce bag and enjoy!

Make about 2-4 quarts and keep in a glass jar such as a mason jar for up to 3-5 days. Enjoy!

Hope you enjoy of what is to be one of many posts!  I’d love to hear your feedback, questions or just plain old shoot the breeze.

xo Carla

