To drink or not to drink…

Long day today. Sometimes I wonder how we are able to fit so much in little time, but hey, time is relative and who’s keeping track anyways.
This years’ Vinomio is coming out very nice. We started screwing things up big time. Newbies. But now it feels as if we were finally catching up to it. Wine has a life of it’s own, and if you’re good, you’ll only be helping it manifest.
I am still to label the eight remaining cases from last year. I am still to sell it too so I can pay for this years’.
Both our babies: the wine and the beer come with a kick. Promise to knock you off your feet when you least expect it. If you don’t believe me you can ask Chris that is still recovering from yesterday. Alcohol is a big subject for us. We try to be as healthy as possible, we work out, eat really healthy for the most part, enjoy spending time in nature, avoid alopathic medicine, etc, etc… but put some good wine on the table and all bets are off. And we DO know what alcohol does in the body.
I believe it’s all about quality AND quantity. Specially quality. And in that we are picky. Still, we definitely are hedonists also and it’s hard to find balance sometimes. On my defense I’ll say a lot of what we have been drinking is part of the process of making, you need to taste and sample and evaluate… again and again. Yesterday for example Chris helped me out by transfering 120 liters of Vinomio into glass bottles. Using the “suck on the hose” method, at 10 am, after having only a soy latte for breakfast. Maybe I need to review my definition of healthy lifestyle you might say, thinking also that in the evening we took my parents to taste the newly born Horchata Oscura. Maybe I’m a proud mama but it’s the most delicious beer I have ever tasted in my life.

It’s all about finding a balance. Waking up this morning feeling tired, heavy and dull lets me know I leaned too far in one side; the alcohol side.
When I first starting practicing yoga I not only became 100% vegan almost overnight, but I also stayed away from alcohol, refined sugar and stimulants such as caffeine for over seven years. During that time I became more selective about my foods, no processed stuff, avoiding acidic foods, prefering local veggies, etc. I also kept a pranayama and a meditation practice.
Also during that time I found myself thinking more and more often, that I was missing out in what other people my age were doing. You know, going to college, partying, dating, what not. After all I started all this when I was 18 or 19 and all of the sudden I was in my late 20’s all healthy and yogi. But felt incomplete.

I can only let you imagine the party revolution the came after. Ok, it wasn’t that bad, my sister can party harder I tell you, BUT it was A LOT for me. And after a few months I felt the same, incomplete… and overweight, out of shape, broke and kind of lost. It took me quite a bit getting back in some sort of order, back into health.

Now I let myself be what ever day by day. I don’t even like to be called ‘vegan’ because even if I don’t eat animal products and disagree completely with how animals are treated when raised for consumption, still I don’t like to be defined as vegan or anything else for that matter. I want to allow myself to do and be what ever I want day by day.

Today I was many things: winemaker, runner, graphic designer, chef, dancing monkey, daughter, advertiser, stressed, happy, full.

