Lost journal entry, FOUND! Just prior to reaching San Jose del Cabo, and Diana does a dance, we find cows, get attacked by dogs and my my, a Tropical Storm=]

What a day!  First day back on the road after a two week stay in Centanario with Miguel and Niurka, and Glenda and her family in La Paz.
Centanario would be like a suburb of La Paz for those of you in the states reading this.
Miguel and Niurka were rad, truly rad people.  Miguel, actually a German born citizen, blonde hair blue eyes the works, is a web ninja dude for a camera stabilization company and his hobby turning full time deal is making social justice or is it injustice [?] movies.
He built his house by hand, has lived in Mexico for some 30 years now, came as a young man and just sank roots.  Got his citizenship when Mexico had a 300 dollar citizenship deal, even got the street his house is on named after him – Calle Miguel Alemange – Mike the German
We cooked, we laughed, we lounged in a home that was idyllic as it was pulled together over 30 years with a master plan all the while and just being inside it was like being in a movie.Then we went to Glendas house=]  For starters, it is one fo the first times I have stayed with a freind of a friend who had no clue who we were, and vice versa.  She reached out to us via facebook and i could not be more stoked we went.  She is rad, her son gave us his room, there was never the slightest pressure of overstaying our welcome and it is through her that big things happened.  We spoke with wee ones at el mangle summer cmp, had a cranio sacral workshop, gave a nutrition talk at the state center for rehabilitation, kayaking, met the local bike club, wouldve met another had I not broke down and had shitty beer, but the six am call time was too fantastic an idea for me on that sunday morning…Last night we stayed at la pila, almost at san bartolo, maybe three to five k prior.
Now, it was a most interesting day indeed.  And as we know with chinese curses, interesting is not always good, but, in retrospect, it s all good as it is grist for the wheelstone.
We left la paz early, at first light, well almost, the coffee caused memto spend some time on facebook in the bathroom, ergo, we missed first light bybdefinitelyngot out the door by third light, not that its an actual term, but i hope you found it silly…
The ride was great and we changed terrain!  Everything is green, it is raining now as i write this in fact.
We rode sixty some kilometers at which point i began to feel the tug of heat exhaustion.  Remembering what I read and learned, which we will be writing an article on soon, once bitten, you must be twice shy for up to a year as your body has to recover on a cellular level and this takes even the most top notch athletes t i m e.  One athlete was tested with a liver biopsy four months after a bout and still had damage!
I got to the point where i told diana to just go on without me to the next town or stop and I would work it out.
She of course declined my silly yet gallant offer and instead gave me her water and off we went.  Just as I was getting ready to find a spot to die in on the roadside, we found La Pila.
The food was great, beans rice ensalada hot sauce, the water with lime, nectar of the gods and then it got fun…
When we were setting up the tent , we noticed a big as dog. Pitbull with teeth that were so big they didnt even fit in his mouth, not exaggerating.
I tossed and turned as I do when I camp and diana went to relivee her bladder, well…
Really raining now, you know I got sunburn yesterday and the sun only shone once, of course it did shine on us from a small tiny break in the clouds so i felt like the chosen one for all of five minutes…
I heard barking, then I heard multiple animals barking, then diana was at the tent saying she felt she needed to be inside as soon as possible, I heard the barking very closettle and sounds around the tent coming from the back slowly to the front…. My goodness, she is such a polite lady when the furry velacoraptors were getting ready to make a strike…
She made it inside, the dogs barked at us and luckily thought the tent was some kind of defense that they were unable to penetrate, thank god!
As the adrenaline of that incident wore off, I finally began to slip into oblivion, it was then I heard the first drops, I told myself that it would be a brief shower and to pay no mind….  Well, the drops kept dropping and the speed increased, sigh… time for the rain fly as now we were being rained on in the tent!
This was, as may be able to imagine, a debacle of great delight for any fly on the wall dry enough to watch.  Two people, tweaked from lack of sleep, trying to put on a rainfly, in a downpour, while watching for killing machines with fur and teeth with one flashlight.
Suprisingly we had many dreams, both of us, though it felt like we slept little, I for one woke up whenever furry razor tooth came by sniffing, or I thought the other was checking up on our bags…  Everytime I was left with the remnants of some amazingly wild dreams…..
Neil gaiman would have been proud…
We are now at a humble hotel, twenty eight bucks, cheapest in the town of San Barrillo.  A truly humble man owns it, I dont know his name, but he just gave us a discount and a cold gallon of water….  No hot water in the shower but a man has to become strong at some point, not to mention, be thankful simply for the power of running water… How often for many of us is it overlooked as a god given right, never realizing that you see people daily who will not know water or even food that day….
The gentleman said it would rain the rest of the day into tomorrow morning…
We saw cows and Diana danced…

I love it!  The low clouds, the drops going from heavy to soft, a mist and then a storm.  The smell, the desert in rainy season during rain may benone of my most cherished smells if you can follow me..
We hung out a little spot in a small town this am after leaving and its fun times, Diana did some yoga, I read Agatha Christie, very suprised that the book I was reading is the one that introduces Poirot to Hastings.  Obviously if you do not follow them or mystery writing, than this will be entirely lost on you.  If however you do not know of the pair and like Watson and Sherlock Holmes, you may like them a lot. I wonder who was first, I feel that Holmes was before Poirot, they are so very similar the two sleuths and thier, I want to say sidekicks and yet, muse seeems more the fitting a monicker.
Off for more beans and rice in a bit, after Diana showers….how Diana manages her long showers in the cold water, well, we can leave thatnto poirot=]
Turns out the rain was a cyclone….  But now that the rain has broken… We ride!  (yet another reason to bike tour, saying stuff as that 🙂
The rain started three kilometers later….  As a joke I stuck out my thumb for a ride from the cover of the little store we were taking cover at.  Whaddya know, a lady pulled over from the road and drove us to San Jose del Cabo.  The rain just got harder and harder.  When we got to San Jose, the streets were rivers, some were impassable, cars were trapped by mud slides, it was epic!
we ended up staying with her friend and went to the baja brewing company that evening,,she had a 4×4, so it made things easier…

Pedaling for Peace


