My head is full of snakes… Im kinda watching “The Boy in Stripped Pajamas”, I dont really want to, nor do I have much choice as the monitor is three feet from my head and the speakers are directly overhead.

It folded down out of the ceiling when the bus left La Paz, the first movie was “Taken”, Liam “I am the new found Ninja on the Silver Screen” Neeson saving his daughter and taking down an international drug/prostitution/slavery ring in the process along with some rich Saudi dude.

Something I can get my teeth into, a person taking action, gratuitous violence, all in a days work at Pedaling for Peace.

Im not into the movies that showcase our failings as a species so much, unless they add in the gratuitous violence and make them fictional, as soon as historic names and faces can be attributed to the angst, I start to lose interest and feel bad…
Enter –  “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas”. Not my thing at all. For starters it represents one of the biggest breakdowns in our combined efforts as a species for a million different angles most of which I have no right speaking to. The US didn’t even get involved until waaaaay late in the game and then years later we find out that the US gov’t was taking notes the whole time on how the little mustached man did his evil doings and did it so well! Top it off that my adoptive family had extremely close dealings with the Nazis as they barely escaped in many cases and in other cases, well, I look through photo albums and come across pictures where faces have been X’ed in red and have heard a few times the story of my grandmothers brother who went out for a cigarette one evening and was never seen again.

Everybody wants a master race and no one wants to look in the mirror to start it.

That some people view the rise of Nazi power or ANY such power through suffering and pain coupled with death as a good thing, is further proof in my mind of our very failure as a species. That there are those who believe thier country incapable of being compared to another “Evil”, simply because they were born there…  baaaaah to you, baaah indeed.

During this time on this ride, in the bus… it has occured to me how simplistic I have been in calling [mentally] one group bad and pitying another, further how naive of me to poopoo a person thinking that one group is good over another if we do not agree on the good vs. bad grouping.

For instance, that I view the white man as evil when it comes to the murder of Native Americans. Very simplistic of me indeed. Have you ever read accounts of how the tribes use to treat one another? Scalping wasnt invented for the white man…

Im thinking nowadays that maybe there arent any groups with thier hands clean… at least since man begin taking account of his successes and his brothers wrong doings…  Maybe the Aboriginies in Australia, Tibetans?  Toss up question, does anyone know of any group that has not sought out and killed others?

24 hours on this bus… Im excited, as excited as can be given I have been on the bus for only five hours…
Blah blah blah,..

Its dark now, what an ending to the striped pajamas… Did not see that coming and I was barely watching the movie. Well, irony does seem to be a solid teacher…  Shame all of its students are usually morons…

I was reminded how quickly those of our own kind will turn on us given a few options. All those Jews who were keeping the other Jews in line and marching them to the ovens, beating them on the way… I wonder how many of you would march your neighbors to the ovens?
Im more and more convinced the number is high based on the current situation of the planet and the sheer lack of DOING when it comes our home which is composed of the soil, air and dirt, we are all arm in arm, lockstepping to the edge of the cliff, spewing good words and facebook likes the whole way…

I womder what the point is. Even in our greatest attempts, most of us fall short of doing any real good.  I am a perfect example, everything I do since I have started trying to lead a solid life can easily be critiqued by me, and if I can find the numerous faults, then others looking in must be able to find a landslide of shortcomings.

I’ve been asked many times what I’ve learned since starting this trip about people. Well, here we go, and no, I am not going to say that everyone is nice, which they are to a degree, but smiles and kind words only go so far for starving children and gang raped little girls in war zones being fought for, I dont even know what they are being fought for and I doubt anyone if standing before the almighty would be able to give me a solid answer either…

1.  Most people are quick with words, and extremely slow with actions, even for thier own health and well being, especially when it comes to thier own health and well being!  Based on this, how can we expect anything BUT the world we currently have?

2.  We the People are sheep, even if we feel we are not, then we know that we most surely are and perhaps we are the most insidious form of wooly fur legged creatures. We will believe whatever a person in power puts before us, a President of a country, of a company or a guru of a practice or sect, a self proclaimed master of this or that… our brains rationalizing and absorbing as truth the words moment by moment as it hits our tympanic membranes [eardrums].

Im getting sick writing on the bus…

People want to do good, and I guess for me in my world, thats a great place to start….  Aloha=]

