5 DAYS…

TIME MINUS 5 DAYS…

I have been in Ensenada for 10 months and I thought I was going to stay a week or two at the most.

Whats happened since my arrival…

I learned that as much as i like to think of myself as a hardcore albeit novice surfer, I am in fact nearly scared of cold water with or without a wetsuit.  No worries, its why god made warm waters… patience…

I was able to enjoy the benefits of having pets, and learned a massive lesson about procrastination with other sentient living beings through the loss of Blackie, the family dog…  If you want to hold off on places, or things, great, when it comes to beings, live as though now is it….  It all seems very easy, and yet in practice, well, good luck with that…

I got to see a place from a true insider perspective, a place that is damn near vilified by US Media.  I got to see the wall from the other side.  The US is an aggressive nation, oil wars aside, take time to travel and live in another country, see whats really going on, dying ignorant is perhaps the saddest thing that can befall another human…  Especially if there is no reason other than nationalism and self imposed fear…

I am good.  Actually, pretty damn near rad if i do say so…

For the best intentions of people, there will be a world of situations that do not make sense.           No matter how benevolent the organization, group or individual, do your research.  I thought the problem was specific to the US, the problem of non cooperation and selfism.  Not so, apparently having a common cause and goal is no longer motivation enough to enable positive change.  We have about a million help the planet organizations and it appears that they only work with each other if the money is just right.  The planet is not the bottom line, money is.  Many of you may say, well of course, that makes sense, to which I say, youre idiots.  The whole reason they exist is to make positive change, to do things differently, any ass can think up a company and use resources to continue bringing money to that company, BUT, it takes a heck of an organization to actually do something different.  I have yet to find any blatantly strong examples, of course we will continue looking…  If you want to donate to a Mexican organization, so far the only one that I have found to be of repute and willing to work with others is Haciendo lo Necessario.  Give your money to them.  They have learned the value of cooperation, united we stand, divided we fall.  Rock on Haciendo!

When deciding to support a non profit, I have just learned a key thing to look for… How well are they able and willing to cooperate with others. This is much more important than you may have taken the time to realize! FYI of course, united we stand, divided we fall. Make sure your non profit of choice is not merely pimping out an idea, a piece of land, a plot of sea, and using it as a means to make money instead of making real change!

 

 

 

 

 

I get so bored with writing these days….  maybe Im becoming boring=]  So many things I could be writing about and yet, i just dont want to.  The Lagoon Clean ups, the wine Diana my partner on the ride and possibly my partner in life is making and the grand party we will be going to for its unveiling, time spent in some of the most beautiful and exotic wineries I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying, pinatas for my birthday, Dia de la Muerta and painting my face properly, discovering barefoot training, teaching classes of kung fu, vegan cooking, tai chi, speaking at my first schools outside the US, burying a family pet, growing hemp, having a donation Chinese medicine clinic, hotsprings, Baja 1000, peacemaking trips with my parents, watching my list of actual friends shrink to nill… being happy it did so…, making gardens, watching sponsors and donors disappear and in some cases they dont even speak to me anymore, watching as others you never expected to help out suddenly extending thier hands with donations and help we never wouldve guessed at….  So much to write about and yet….  Even our Mega going away fundraiser at the winery, replete with capoeiristas, belly dancers, a full on rock band, wine, first wine tour in the Guadalupe wine valley, the Dr. who took the tour and gave me his thoughts on my journey…

And yet, here I am touching on everything but not writing deeply….  well, it is what it is.  Im going turn of Kid Cudi to go back to reading my latest and greatest by Neal Stephenson – The Diamond Age and then to help Diana bottle her wine, all 60 gallons of it!  Enjoy your day and Aloha!

