Recycling 101 and how I came to learn about the madness of men…

Diana and I have been collecting bottles and cans from friends and family as we find ourselves going to San Diego once a month, once every two months, so we figured we would recycle all of this when we went.  You know the drill, do small things everyday to make a big impact on the planet..

I would like to share a story with you about our border with Mexico and the logic that runs through the veins of our bureaucracy [I have yet to spell that word correctly on the first try, or ever without spell checker]…

We had amassed a small fortune in bottles and cans.  Now, when I say fortune, please understand that it takes a mountain, literally of cans, glass and plastic to make any kind of money, i.e. more than 5 dollars.

We had amassed what I assumed would be a small fortune [I was guessing we would get 10-15 dollars at least!] which could then be put to use in future attempts to help start a system to pay for gas required to haul the glass bottles and trash out of the Lagoon.

When we got to the border we were informed that we could not bring Mexican cans/glass/plastic to the US to recycle as it was defrauding the government…

W O W.

Then it was off to secondary inspection, this is where you go when you are suspected of bringing drugs, guns, people of suspicious character, etc. into the states, the same place I got to spend time in when I entered Canada, every country has a time out room for the unholy…

Here our story ends.  We met with an agent who was training a junior officer and he took one look at the reason and got us out of there as fast as he could, AND said he was sorry.

My point for this deeply informative post.  Do your best knowing that there is a madness starting to spread in the system… OR… Do your best know that there are those who will always be there to help you…

Always do your best!

We ended up getting 2 dollars and 35 cents.

=]

