Shirks Bike Shop – Lancaster, PA

I dont really know where or how to begin, that is the way things usually start when you’re overwhelmed and to this day, in thinking about the beginning of this adventure, I would like to think that it is largely due to Luke Shirk that I am where I am.

I was about as clueless as can be when starting this ride.  I simply knew that it was something that had to be done.  In looking for all the parts and pieces that would come to be my chariot to carry me to different lands, I went to many bike shops in Lancaster, PA, of course, looking for donations.  Most of them thought that what I was doing was very nice and admirable, very kind words and that since I was not of noteworthy status, a racer, someone cool, etc, that was all I was getting.  =]

On the phone Luke told me to come by and we could talk.  I never expected what happened next, we chatted for a few minutes and then he just started walking me around thier shop and filling my arms with whatever I needed.  I cannot imagine the tally of the bill and I even asked him if there was anything I could do, if he wanted to get a tax rebate with the non-profit that sponsors me… he said something that I still think about, and may think about to the very end of my personal road in life.

Its all a wash in the end.

I had heard this many times and never really though about it, and yet, here was a man who lived his life in that way.  To this day I don’t think I fully understand what I learned from him on that day, I can only hope that someday I will.

Thank you very very much to Mr. Luke Shirk, his family and everyone who works at the shop.  You really started me off on a yellow brick road, I thank you.    Aloha!

 

Leave a Reply

