What a ride……. What are we doing here=)

On the road of life you get flat tires, i had that thought long before I started this thing, and now this thing has become so wild, so unexpected, I truly do not even bother to make a schedule for myself beyond a few hours in some cases.  I am now looking at taking a break from bicycle journey to go to India to really get some razors edge yoga training and then returning to my ride, did i see this coming, no, does it take me away from my ride, no, will it make me a ninja in the long run, yup.

Having a schedule, I guess this is where I am going with this one, it really does change not only what you are able to enjoy, but the opportunities, not so much that are presented to you, they are always being presented, it’s just that much of the time, we think we have such a good “grasp” on things, we rarely see opportunities before us.

That is what I am rooting out in me through this ride, I’m trying to have a timeline as close to the present as possible.  Not lookin ahead, and surely not dwelling on that which has come and gone, regardless of what I “think” it did in relation to my life…

Have you ever heard the Buddhist Koan about the farmer and the horse?

There is a Taoist story of an old farmer who had worked his crops for many years. One day his horse ran away. Upon hearing the news, his neighbors came to visit. “Such bad luck,” they said sympathetically. “May be,” the farmer replied. The next morning the horse returned, bringing with it three other wild horses. “How wonderful,” the neighbors exclaimed. “May be,” replied the old man. The following day, his son tried to ride one of the untamed horses, was thrown, and broke his leg. The neighbors again came to offer their sympathy on his misfortune. “May be,” answered the farmer. The day after, military officials came to the village to draft young men into the army. Seeing that the son’s leg was broken, they passed him by. The neighbors congratulated the farmer on how well things had turned out. “May be,” said the farmer.

So many things happen in our lives and we immediately label them, good, bad, yet, we HAVE NO CLUE how this thing we call our lives is going/meant to play out, we shut ourselves off from sooooooo much opportunity, sometimes, many times, we are shut off simply becuase something is different.

Just because you never had my Vegan curry before, does not mean you will not like it=)

Lets save our souls and just be happy to be here, happy to be alive (Tom Petty), and live the good life, whether it’s Dom Perignon at the Ultra Lounge or a 40 in a brown paper bag under the overpass, I’ve drank with them all and to you I say, cheers to you brothers and sisters!

Leave a Reply

